Popular Freebies found in the past 30 days

Show Filter List Show Filter Buttons
Showing Results 1 - 4
Sort By:
View As: Grid List Detailed Minimal Images Adult Content: Hidden (change) 

Foliage: An International Banking Spy Thriller (A Louise Moscow Novel Book 1) by Lorraine Evanoff 4.7 Stars (51 Reviews)    Price verified 2 hours ago

BOOK EXCELLENCE AWARD FINALIST, HISTORICAL FICTION NEW APPLE AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE SHELF UNBOUND BEST INDIE BOOK, NOTABLE INDIE AWARD READERS' FAVORITE BOOK AWARD FINALIST Investment banker Louise Moscow is sexy, brazen and fearless in business and in love. With a high-profile dream job wooing rich clientele in late 1980s Paris, she enjoys a lavish lifestyle in a glamorous city. When she stumbles upon criminal activity at her company, the FBI and CIA force her to cooperate and bring down the underhanded bankers in what turns out to be one of the greatest scandals of the twentieth century. Perfect for fans of Erik Larson, Jack Slater and Kathy Reichs, Foliage: An International Banking Spy Thriller (A Louise Moscow Novel Book 1) is the first installment in this highly addictive, suspenseful thriller series by award-winning author Lorraine Evanoff. What readers are saying about Foliage: - "Great read, beautifully written, I highly recommend." ~ Matthew J. Dowd, Chief Political Analyst, ABC News - "It starts off fast and keeps you hooked." ~ Nelle L'Amour, New York Times Bestselling Author - Evanoff does her homework, and is able to deliver complex material in a light and readable fashion." ~ Patrick "Ubercritic" McDonald, Hollywood Chicago Magazine

Genre: Politics & Social Sciences [x]
Length: 260 Pages (1,031 KB)
Lending: Not Enabled
Added: Jul 8th, 2020

Lift Us Up, Don't Push Us Out!: Voices from the Front Lines of the Educational Justice Movement by Mark R. Warren (Beacon Press) 4.1 Stars (11 Reviews)    Price verified 7 hours ago

Parents, young people, community organizers, and educators describe how they are fighting systemic racism in schools by building a new intersectional educational justice movement. Illuminating the struggles and triumphs of the emerging educational justice movement, this anthology tells the stories of how black and brown parents, students, educators, and their allies are fighting back against systemic inequities and the mistreatment of children of color in low-income communities. It offers a social justice alternative to the corporate reform movement that seeks to privatize public education through expanding charter schools and voucher programs. To address the systemic racism in our education system and in the broader society, the contributors argue that what is needed is a movement led by those most affected by injustice--students of color and their parents--that builds alliances across sectors and with other social justice movements addressing immigration, LGBTQ rights, labor rights, and the school-to-prison pipeline. Representing a diverse range of social justice organizations from across the US, including the Chicago Teachers Union and the Genders and Sexualities Alliance Network, the essayists recount their journeys to movement building and offer practical organizing strategies and community-based alternatives to traditional education reform and privatization schemes. Lift Us Up! will outrage, inform, and mobilize parents, educators, and concerned citizens about what is wrong in American schools today and how activists are fighting for and achieving change.

Genre: Politics & Social Sciences [x]
Length: 216 Pages (3,092 KB)
Lending: Not Enabled
Added: Jul 3rd, 2020

Invisible No More: Police Violence Against Black Women and Women of Color by Andrea Ritchie (Beacon Press) 4.7 Stars (19 Reviews)    Price verified 9 hours ago

"A passionate, incisive critique of the many ways in which women and girls of color are systematically erased or marginalized in discussions of police violence." -- Michelle Alexander, author of The New Jim Crow Invisible No More is a timely examination of how Black women, Indigenous women, and women of color experience racial profiling, police brutality, and immigration enforcement. By placing the individual stories of Sandra Bland, Rekia Boyd, Dajerria Becton, Monica Jones, and Mya Hall in the broader context of the twin epidemics of police violence and mass incarceration, Andrea Ritchie documents the evolution of movements centered around women's experiences of policing. Featuring a powerful forward by activist Angela Davis, Invisible No More is an essential exposé on police violence against WOC that demands a radical rethinking of our visions of safety -- and the means we devote to achieving it.

Genre: Politics & Social Sciences [x]
Length: 362 Pages (7,229 KB)
Lending: Not Enabled
Added: Jun 16th, 2020

Long Time Walk On Water (Vol.2) by Joan Barbara Simon 3.5 Stars (50 Reviews)    Price verified 9 hours ago

A black woman and single mum, starting over. A white man who wants something more. Will they take a chance on each other? Everyting gonna be alright? London, 1960. Rose is looking for a new start. Thousands of miles away from her Caribbean home, she scrapes together money to send for her children while adjusting to a strange, new world. Jack's life is full of disillusionment. He cares little for his council flat, his town, or even his wife. The only thing that gives his life sparkle? His Jamaican friends down at the docks. When Jack meets Rose at a bus stop, a new and unexpected future unfolds... If you like rich settings and realistic characters: Long Time Walk on Water. This captivating multicultural historical novel with its splash of something quite unique, its touch of romance, reggae style, will win your heart forever. Told with pride, poise, humour and grace, this modern classic by Joan Barbara Simon, literary terrorist, will have you shouting about if from the rooftops! 'Rich, complex and beautifully written. It is something unlike anything I've read before and yet it's recognisable and resonant because all of life is in it. An absorbing and affecting read.' (online reviewer) 'Beautifully crafted (... ) will leave the reader as changed as Simon's characters. Highly, highly recommended.' (Dan Holloway)

Genre: Politics & Social Sciences [x]
Length: 300 Pages (1,150 KB)
Lending: Enabled
Added: Jun 15th, 2020
Page 1