All Freebies found in the past 24 hours

Show Filter List Show Filter Buttons
Showing Results 1 - 16
Sort By:
View As: Grid List Detailed Minimal Images Adult Content: Hidden (change) 

Sea Fog: crime classic by J. S. Fletcher (idb) Price verified 2 hours ago

I think my first notion was that this was the cry of some animal, trapped close by, or seized by another. But on the instant it came again, and I knew it then for the cry, desperate, terrorised, of a man in deadly fear and peril. I had sprung to my elbow at the first sound: at the second I looked sharply through the opening of the chains into the ground floor beneath me. The man of the map had gone; there, plainly outlined in the bracken, was the place where he had slept, but he and his bottle and his knapsack had vanished. And at ...

Genre: Historical Fiction [x] / Length: 311 Pages (889 KB) / Lending: Not Enabled / Added: Sep 18th, 2020

ALTDORF: The Forest Knights: Book 1 by J. K. Swift (UE Publishing Co.) 4.1 Stars (691 Reviews)    Price verified 2 hours ago

Over 340 Goodreads 5-Star Reviews! Action-packed adventure perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell. 1314 AD. A druid priestess enlists the help of an ex-Hospitaller warrior and a charismatic outlaw to fight Austrian tyranny in medieval Switzerland. ALTDORF tells the events leading up to one of the greatest underdog stories of the medieval age, the Battle of Morgarten. "Re-imagining the William Tell legend -- without William Tell." At the end of the 13th century, five hundred orphans and second sons are rounded up from villages in the ...

Genre: Historical Fiction [x] / Length: 321 Pages (1,901 KB) / Lending: Enabled / Added: Sep 18th, 2020

The Edge of Mercy by Heidi Chiavaroli (Hope Creek Publishers) 4.7 Stars (155 Reviews)    Price verified 2 hours ago

Two women, three hundred years apart, must face the devastation of all they hold dear... Suspecting her husband is having an affair, Sarah Rodrigues fights to appear unbroken while attempting to salvage her family. Though distracted by her own troubles, Sarah is summoned to an elderly friend's deathbed for an unusual request -- find a long-lost daughter and relay a centuries-old family story. Determined not to fail her friend, Sarah pieces together the story of her neighbor's ancestor, Elizabeth Baker, a young colonist forced into ...

Genre: Historical Fiction [x] / Length: 300 Pages (3,891 KB) / Lending: Enabled / Added: Sep 18th, 2020

Spear Havoc: 1066 - Alternative Histories by C.R. May 4.8 Stars (16 Reviews)    Price verified 5 minutes ago

C.R.MAY IS RAPIDLY DEVELOPING INTO ONE OF THE MOST IMPORTANT HISTORICAL FICTION NOVELISTS WRITING TODAY - SPEESH READS. The year 1066 is arguably the most famous in English history. Assailed on all sides, King Harold and his doughty army finally fall to a last gasp Norman assault. It is perhaps the very first of those fights against the odds which have entered the national psyche, of which Agincourt, Rorke's Drift and Dunkirk are but a few. But what if Harold Godwinson had prevailed on that blood soaked ridge? Or the invasions of ...

Genre: Historical Fiction [x] / Length: 204 Pages (6,238 KB) / Lending: Enabled / Added: Sep 18th, 2020

What You Promised (Anything for Love, Book 4) by Adele Clee 4.5 Stars (43 Reviews)    Price verified 2 hours ago

He promised his name and his protection - but he never promised his love. Matthew Chandler built his fortune catering to the debauched antics of the ton. But one turn of the cards threatens everything he's worked hard to achieve. Suspecting foul play at the gaming table, Matthew needs time and money if he has any hope of uncovering the plot to ruin him. When Priscilla Smythe finds herself in a compromising situation in the Holbrooks' garden, there appears to be only one option to save her reputation - marry Lord Morford. Indeed, ...

Genre: Historical Fiction [x] / Length: 228 Pages (4,724 KB) / Lending: Enabled / Added: Sep 18th, 2020

Of Darkness and Light: A Soli Hansen Mystery Book 1 (Soli Hansen Mysteries) by Heidi Eljarbo 4.7 Stars (34 Reviews)    Price verified 2 hours ago

In this first book of a new historical mystery series, a young art historian faces a tough choice in German-occupied Norway. "Artful prose and at a pace that makes for a can't-put-down, first-class literary voyage."-Melissa Dalton-Bradford, bestselling author of Global Mom Oslo, 1944. Soli Hansen's passion for art history is and always has been a way of life for her. While she spends her days working in an art shop, WWII is taking its toll on everyone. Apprehensive of the consequences, Soli avoids becoming entangled in the war ...

Genre: Historical Fiction [x] / Length: 191 Pages (2,828 KB) / Lending: Enabled / Added: Sep 18th, 2020

It Happened On Fifth Street: : a tale of forgotten heroes (Freedom Series Book 1) by Robyn R. Pearce (Getting A Grip Publishing) 4.7 Stars (18 Reviews)    Price verified 2 hours ago

If you enjoy thrilling historical novels with a time-travel twist, and you're fascinated by the drama of the Underground Railroad, you'll love IT HAPPENED ON FIFTH STREET: a tale of forgotten heroes. 1837. America. Alf. A hidden letter. Family secrets he's determined to uncover. 2015. New Zealand. Abi. A forgotten tin trunk, a mystery, and a magical old coin. Alf and Abi, thrown together across the centuries, pool their knowledge. It takes ages, but at last - a breakthrough. They crack the code and Alf demands to be included. ...

Genre: Historical Fiction [x] / Length: 340 Pages (1,259 KB) / Lending: Enabled / Added: Sep 18th, 2020

Blackbeard's Freedom: A Historical Fantasy Pirate Adventure Novel (Voyages of Queen Anne's Revenge Book 1) by Jeremy McLean (Points of Sail Publishing) 4.0 Stars (199 Reviews)    Price verified 9 hours ago

Pirates, puzzles, and plunder combine as Blackbeard becomes the scourge of the seas in this story like "Pirates of the Caribbean meets Indiana Jones!" - James (Amazon.co.uk) What would you do for your Freedom? Would you steal? Kill? Die? For Edward Thatch, there's no questioning the depths he will go for his Freedom. "Kept me turning page after page to see what was going to happen." - Teressa J Betts Edward didn't know he had bought a former pirate ship, and when the marine captain Isaac Smith threatened to take it, and his ...

Genre: Historical Fiction [x] / Length: 363 Pages (714 KB) / Lending: Enabled / Added: Sep 18th, 2020

The Feasting of Falerius by David Galvin (David Galvin Publications) 3.5 Stars (5 Reviews)    Price verified 3 hours ago

A military and economic line has been drawn across the neck of Britannia by the emperor Hadrian and behind it plough-teams of the wealthy take their agricultural riches from the island. Peace has brought prosperity and patrons with their clients settle down to meals of fine foods served in sumptuous rural villas: the economy thriving on its slave power. Yet who were the slaves in this incessant desire for status and greed? Julianus Falerius Silvanus, a veteran soldier, thought he had qualified to take his place at such a table but ...

Genre: Historical Fiction [x] / Length: 212 Pages (586 KB) / Lending: Not Enabled / Added: Sep 18th, 2020

The Beauty Doctor by Elizabeth Hutchison Bernard (Belle Epoque Publishing) 4.8 Stars (53 Reviews)    Price verified 2 hours ago

"The Beauty Doctor is a compelling historical novel steeped in mystery with strong elements of a medical thriller."--READERS' FAVORITE Book Reviews, 5-stars "An interesting plot and insight into the practice of medicine in the early twentieth century... It kept me reading and did not disappoint."--HISTORICAL NOVEL SOCIETY Book Reviews Finalist, 2018 Eric Hoffer Book Award, 2017 AZ Literary Awards, and a Medallion Honoree of the Book Readers Appreciation Group In the spring of 1907, Abigail Platford finds herself unexpectedly ...

Genre: Historical Fiction [x] / Length: 361 Pages (2,189 KB) / Lending: Enabled / Added: Sep 18th, 2020

ILONA - Wolf Queen: The Civilis Saga - Part 2 by Peter Baggott (Michael Terence Publishing) 3.8 Stars (4 Reviews)    Price verified 2 hours ago

Two warnings to return home, drive Artorius Civilis northward. Torn between duty and family he must resolve the Legate-less 2nd Augusta before he can return to Rome. Lost in a snowstorm it leads him to a chance meeting and an unknown prophesy he must fulfil. The purge of Sejanus' supporters continues and with only the Civilis family left to identify him, Victus Claudian must eradicate them all. An informant, an ambush, a final meeting in a snowy forest, Artorius is the first step, but in Genua, Naomi hides a growing secret. ...

Genre: Historical Fiction [x] / Length: 350 Pages (2,445 KB) / Lending: Enabled / Added: Sep 18th, 2020

Wolfking (Wolfking Series Book 1) by Sarah Rayne (Lume Books) 3.7 Stars (24 Reviews)    Price verified 5 minutes ago

The Apocalypse has come - and it has left the World in ruins... 'A smashing writer who really knows how to weave a tale... ' Booksellers' Choice Following the terror of the Apocalypse, life in the community of Tugaim, Ireland is simple - but controlled. Families eke out their meagre livings from the blasted earth, carefully avoiding the forbidden patches of land that still shine with eerie light... Joanna Grady is happy in this community, and has even met Flynn, whom she loves and hopes to be matched to. They dream of Ancient ...

Genre: Historical Fiction [x] / Length: 503 Pages (2,042 KB) / Lending: Enabled / Added: Sep 18th, 2020

Rogue Herries: classic by Hugh Walpole (idb) 4.3 Stars (8 Reviews)    Price verified 17 hours ago

Why in folly's name had he ever married her? They had been young enough, he eighteen, she seventeen. They had been idiots enough, he vain beyond all vanity, she adoring beyond all conceivable adoration; she had been pretty, innocent and wealthy.

Genre: Historical Fiction [x] / Length: 540 Pages (755 KB) / Lending: Not Enabled / Added: Sep 17th, 2020

Ghost Stories: classics by M. R. James (idb) 4.0 Stars (2 Reviews)    Price verified 22 hours ago

Though James's work as a medievalist is still highly regarded, he is best remembered for his ghost stories, which are regarded as among the best in the genre. James redefined the ghost story for the new century by abandoning many of the formal Gothic clich├ęs of his predecessors and using more realistic contemporary settings.

Genre: Historical Fiction [x] / Size: 1,124 KB / Lending: Not Enabled / Added: Sep 17th, 2020

The Innocents (The Myers/Benton Chronicles Book 1) by Jeff Lee 4.0 Stars (1 Review)    Price verified 22 hours ago

San Francisco Book Review: "Jeff Lee writes with an excellent sense for tension and humanity... 1955 comes to life in this novel in a profound way... 'The Innocents' is a highly readable, tension-filled novel that will hold readers through to the very end." Karl Myers is a World War II Veteran who, having lost his family prior to the War, has settled into his job in 1955 as a police chief in a small Pennsylvania town. His duties dramatically change when a young boy is brutally murdered. The victim's sister and his best friend are ...

Genre: Historical Fiction [x] / Length: 217 Pages (2,851 KB) / Lending: Enabled / Added: Sep 17th, 2020

Victor's Legacy by Matt Kaplan 4.8 Stars (6 Reviews)    Price verified 24 hours ago

Critically acclaimed author and science journalist tells the page-turning tale of a boy haunted by dreams of times he never lived and his courageous journey to disentangle fiction from reality. An expert at treating post-traumatic stress disorder, Dr Wolstone is accustomed to seeing one soldier after another in his office unhinged by the horrors of war. Children, if they turn up at all, are left in the waiting room. It is therefore a surprise when Adam arrives. Sent by one of the most respected child psychologists in Boston, Dr ...

Genre: Historical Fiction [x] / Length: 341 Pages (4,096 KB) / Lending: Enabled / Added: Sep 17th, 2020
Page 1